The Dancer Returns: From Victim to Victory

The Dancer Returns:  From Victim to Victory

Author: Susan Lee-Titus

Rating:
Publisher: iUniverse, Inc.

Reviewed by: Cheryl C. Malandrinos

Gripping, powerful, and inspiring The Dancer Returns: From Victim to Victory by Susan Lee-Titus is a story of survival and moving on that you’ll never forget.

Titus brings the reader along on her journey through Post Tramatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), sharing the full gamut of emotions she went through as a result of the terrfying night when she was raped at a dance studio by two men while her helpless friends watched. The reader is then able to follow Titus’ road to recovery as she realizes the key lies in her ability to forgive the men who turned her life into a living nightmare and moves on to create The Joy Dancers, an outreach program for teaching incarcerated women how to release their anger through aerobic dance.

This is an amazingly powerful book. At points in my reading I was moved to tears; but this truly isn’t a sad story because Titus not only survived, she worked through painful emotions and nightmares to come out on top again. With a renewed sense of faith and forgiveness, Titus stopped being a victim and became a woman who reached out to other women in desperate situations.

Exquisitely written, moving beyond words, and full of hope for the future, The Dancer Returns reminds us all of the success story inside us. If you read only one book this year, make that book The Dancer Returns by Susan Lee-Titus!

1 Comment

Filed under Biographies and Memoirs

One response to “The Dancer Returns: From Victim to Victory

  1. bethfehlbaum

    Hi, there! My name is Beth Fehlbaum, and my debut novel, Courage in Patience, is being released in September. Like the book reviewed above, my book also deals with PTSD that is the result of sexual assault. My book goes on sale next month on Amazon and Barnes & Noble. I’m in the process of setting up a blog tour beginning in March, and seeking hosts. PLEASE check out my site, http://courageinpatience.blogspot.com and let me know if you would be interested in hosting me on one of my stops! I would LOVE to get to know your teen and adult readers because I know they will enjoy Courage in Patience.
    Anyone who hosts me in my blog tour will have their name put in a hat for an autographed copy of Courage in Patience. Please e-mail me at beth@bethfehlbaum.com, if you would like to talk about my tour.
    Thanks!
    Beth Fehlbaum

Leave a Reply

