Interview with Emilia Rutigliano, author of the Layers of Veronica series

Emilia RutiglianoEmilia I. Rutigliano scored fiftieth percentile on her SATs… and on her LSATs… and on her BAR…Sigh…

But she nevertheless survived, and seems to be doing OK. She practices Law read lore) in Brooklyn, New York (read Nu Yawk). She was born in the former Soviet Union, and emigrated in 1979. She is happily married to the same crazy Italian she’s been with since college, who suffers from a severe addition to travel (still in acute form). Together they are doing a somewhat passable job with their three precious darlings (who are now teenagers, thus elaboration is not necessary).

Which is why Emilia writes about Veronica. Veronica, though… is interesting. And Emilia knows interesting.

So she weaved the tale about the interesting characters, places and events from her own life. It is remarkable how if you choose to view a subject objectively, it becomes downright artistically gorgeous. So Emilia views and shows Brooklyn Russians as gorgeous, and the Barese intricacies as gorgeous, and she even tolerates Paris, Singapore, Vietnam and Malaysia for the reader’s interests.

Thank you, dear reader, for tolerating these scenes….

LAYERS OF VERONICA IS ON FACEBOOK…LIKE US.

Her first book in the Layers of Veronica series is Napoleon.

Visit Emilia Rutigliano’s website at www.layersofveronica.com.

Napoleon 7What made you decide to become a published author?

Emilia: I’m a good storyteller, so I told good stories.  Friends started passing the stories around, but the format of Word documents, blogs and converted files was becoming tedious… Kindle Direct Publishing came to the rescue.

Would you consider your latest book series, Layers of Veronica, to be a one of a kind?  How so?

Emilia: Layers is different in that it wasn’t targeted to the main-stream, and yet regardless of who you are, you recognize a part of yourself in every character.  It is a mix of “it could happen” and “it DID happen” in such a way that you want to be part of that world.  The reason the book series stands out is that it doesn’t go in one direction and with only one guide, thus the layer theory.  In each situation there is character growth as a parent, a lover, an entrepreneur, a philanthropist and as a friend.

Where is your writing sanctuary?

Emilia: LOL.  My writing sanctuary is anywhere I can sit down with a laptop.  If there is internet, well then I’m in Shangri-la.  I write sitting in my car waiting for my kids to finish their extracurricular activities, in court waiting for assignment to see a judge and in front of the TV with my family.  The story is usually already written in my head,  I just need to get the words on the screen.

What do you believe a writer should not do as far as getting his or her book published?

Emilia: Do NOT follow the tried and true.  There is no such thing for a writer.  Just because ‘it’ worked for so and so, it may not work for you.  Do get yourself educated in everything there is out there.  There is a plethora of information… but you don’t need to take every one of those roads.  Also, if you believe in your work and there is no traditional publisher willing to give you the attention, start with self-publishing.  The cost is minimal.  It’s definitely a good “start.”

What is one thing you learned about your book after it was published?

Emilia: I was shocked to find the demographic attracted to the book.  I though the book would only be popular with the 35-40-year-ol NYC immigrants. I was absolutely wrong.  Veronica intrigues and inspires people all over the world, and of all ages.  Women in their 50s, 60s and 70s have written to me to let me know the book is exactly what they were waiting for.  I have never been so happy to be wrong.

Did any real life experiences find their way into your book?

Emilia: Absolutely.  The book is fiction through and through, but it is also a scrapbook/journal of my own experiences in the world… particularly with people I know and the places I’ve visited.  Because my main point was to develop characters that were credible, I gave them all backgrounds of people I know.  Veronica, for example, has my history.  It isn’t a memoir or an autobiography, but if I did it, ate it or experienced it… Veronica was able to draw from those experiences.

Aside from writing, what’s your passion?

Emilia: I like traveling and seeing different cultures.  I love watching people interact.  My husband laughs that if he leaves me alone for ten minutes someplace, I’ll usually strike up a conversation with someone nearby – regardless of which continent I am on or what language the conversation would be in.  I also enjoy all the other ambits of my life – I’m a wife, a mom, a trial attorney and a friend.  Each of the layers is my passion.  I enjoy them all.

What’s next for you?

Emilia: More traveling, more writing, more living… While the last two books of Layers of Veronica are receiving some TLC at the editor’s, I’m working on another book series called Alexandra’s Order.  There’s a lot of research and fun to be head before the book is completed.  There’s also a lot of living to do.  J

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

