Interview with Praying Medic, author of ‘Divine Healing Made Simple’

Praying Medic 2Our guest today is Praying Medic, author of the non-fiction / religion, Divine Healing Made Simple. Praying Medic is a paramedic and author living in Phoenix, Arizona. Since 2009, he has written about the miracles God has done through his medical practice. He is married to his best friend and business partner. His first book Divine Healing Made Simple was published in December of 2013. His life goal is to teach people to live as ambassadors of God’s kingdom. His books and articles are intended to inspire, challenge and if necessary, provoke readers into a deeper relationship with God. If you’re interested in connecting with him outside of Amazon, he has a personal blog http://prayingmedic.com/ where he writes about the miraculous. You can contact him there.

What made you decide to become a published author?

Unlike most writers, I never had aspirations of being a published author. I was Divine Healing Made Simple 7happy just being a paramedic and I thought I would do this kind of work until I was retirement age. But over the last few years I wrote over 30 articles on the subject of supernatural healing. I’ve also had a lot of dreams where the keys to healing were revealed. The articles I wrote and the revelation from the dreams helped people understand healing better. A number of friends told me that more people would benefit if I wrote a book, so I spent about a year turning the articles into a book manuscript.

Would you consider your latest book, (divine healing made simple), to be a one of a kind? How so?

I would consider it to be one of a kind for several reasons. Most if not all books written on healing have been written by professional theologians, but my book was written by an average guy who works an average job and I think that helps people relate to my writing style better. The other thing that makes it unique is that I’ve shared information from dozens of dreams that provide the answers to some of the most common, unanswered questions people have about healing.

Where is your writing sanctuary?

I do about half my writing from the cab of my ambulance between calls and the other half from an office in my home that I share with my wife.

What do you believe a writer should not do as far as getting his or her book published?

My advice to any author who wants to be published is to start a personal blog. If you’re new to writing, developing a regular habit of writing can be a difficult process. If you’re a veteran writer – the problem isn’t writing, but marketing what you write. Writing regularly on a personal blog solves both of these problems.

Most people who want to publish books never write them because they never develop a regular habit of writing. Blogging can give you the motivation you need to write regularly. Blogging also puts your writing in front of an audience that can give you feedback and feedback hones your writing skill.

When you post regular messages on a blog you’re creating an audience of readers who will likely buy your book once it is written. You do the writing and let search engines bring interested people to your blog.

Publishing a book is one thing, but marketing it is a completely different matter. Most authors go unnoticed simply because they have no marketing plan. A personal blog connected to social networks like Twitter and Facebook can be the marketing tool you need to get your books in the hands of a larger audience.

What inspires you?

One of my mentors once said, “There’s nothing more boring than religion, and nothing more exciting than God.” What inspires me is when I sit down at my computer and open a document expecting to hear from God and He fills up page after page with the most amazing thoughts I’ve ever heard.

What is one thing you learned about your book after it was published?

I could not believe how many people replied to me by e-mail to tell me how much my book impacted (and in some cases radically changed) their lives.

Why do you love to write non-fiction / religion books?

Most of what I write is aimed at helping people develop their spiritual gifts – In particular healing. I get a lot of positive feedback from readers who try my suggestions and find that they work. In some cases, terminal cancer patients have been healed. When someone is set free of some kind of bondage or illness because of something I wrote – it is immensely gratifying to me and it motivates me to write more.

You’re concocting a recipe for a best selling book. What’s the first ingredient?

Build a tribe of loyal friends who believe in you and your message. Serve them with your gifts and talents. Give away what you have expecting nothing in return. Then write your book. They will make it a best-seller. That’s pretty much what happened to me.

What’s one fun fact about your book people should know?

Most people don’t know that God speaks to them through their dreams and He’s trying to guide them on the path to their eternal destiny through them.

Did any real life experiences find their way into your book?

Most of what I’ve written about in my book has come directly from my personal experiences with healing.

Aside from writing, what’s your passion?

I’m the world’s biggest Facebook junkie, but don’t tell anyone. Let’s keep it between you and me, okay?

What’s next for you?

I have a pretty ambitious publishing schedule. My next book is a collection of personal stories about the supernatural work of God in my life. The title is My Top 100 Craziest Adventures with God. It should be out late this summer.

I’m also working on a book titled: Seeing in the Spirit Made Simple that should be out in the fall.

I’m working on a fourth book titled: Traveling in the Spirit Made Simple. I hope to have it out by the end of 2014.

I began posting a series of fictional stories on spiritual warfare on Facebook that received rave reviews from my friends. They immediately demanded a novel be written from the stories. That book will likely be my first project for 2015.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

