Interview with Karen-Anne Stewart, author of ‘Ash to Steele’

Karen-Anne StewartKaren-Anne Stewart has always adored reading and has now fallen in love with writing. Her written works are The Rain Trilogy: Saving Rain, Healing Rain, and After the Rain, and the newly released stand alone novel, Ash to Steele. Her debut novel, Saving Rain: The First Novel in The Rain Trilogy, was a nominee for the Book Junkie’s Choice Awards, and Saving Rain and After the Rain were nominees for the 2014 RONE Awards.

When Karen-Anne isn’t writing, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends, hiking, and visiting new places. She fuels her addiction of creating new stories by her only other addiction, caffeine, and listening to a myriad of musical genres. Tucked away near the Blue Ridge Mountains, Karen-Anne lives with her husband, daughter, two dogs, and their cat. She plans on writing new adult romance as long as her fingers maintain dexterity.

For More Information

What made you decide to become a published author?

Thank you so much for having me today! I’ve always adored reading but it wasn’t until college that I fell in love with writing when the class was assigned a short story to write. I knew then that I wanted to be an author one day!

Where is your writing sanctuary?

I almost always have my laptop with me so I can write when I get a spare moment, but my favorite place to write is in the office my husband helped me redo in our house. The love of reading and readers helped inspire me to create #favreadingplace (which is also my favorite writing place) as my way of paying it forward with a monthly giveaway. I’ve included a couple of photos of my writing sanctuary.

The Book Rack 1The Book Rack 2

What inspires you?

Music is a HUGE inspiration to me! I love music and have it busting my drums when I write every chance I get.

Why do you love to write New Adult Romance?

I’m such a sucker for romance! I’m also obsessed with hot heroes who will go through hell and back for their girl. The New Adult age range is a magical time in life when everything in the world seems possible and you feel absolutely every emotion so intensely.

You’re concocting a recipe for a best selling book. What’s the first ingredient?

Your soul. You gotta pour your soul into your work; to me, sharing my soul is what makes me addicted to writing.

Ash to Steele 2What’s one fun fact about your book people should know?

Breck isn’t just a tattooed bad boy who’s an insatiable bastard; he has a heart of gold buried underneath his cocky exterior and isn’t afraid to kick some serious ass if someone messes with the ones he loves. I had a blast writing from his POV. Ash to Steele is my fourth novel, but it’s my first one written entirely in 1st person, in alternating POVs.

Did any real life experiences find their way into your book?

I’m from a very small town just a few miles from where Emma was raised in Ash to Steele, so I can relate to her struggles with the love/hate emotions behind growing up where everyone knows everything about you…or they at least think they do ;).

Aside from writing, what’s your passion?

I’ve become an advocate in the fight against human trafficking. I knew what trafficking was but not how widespread it truly is until I began writing The Rain Trilogy. During researching for Saving Rain, I became outraged and sickened by the depravity of this form of modern day slavery. I’m taking online training now so I can become a better advocate against trafficking. I strongly encourage readers to check out sites like Polaris Project and Shared Hope International to get statistics and see how amazing organizations like these are in combating human trafficking.

What’s next for you?

Currently I’m working on Feel, my first paranormal romance, and I’m loving writing Jensen and Saige’s story. You can see a sneak peek of Feel at http://www.karen-annestewart.com/Feelsneakpeek.html (18+). Feel will be live by the end of this year. Then, due to several requests, I’m thrilled to begin writing Gavin’s (sexy, badass bouncer from Ash to Steele) own story in 2015.

Thank you again for having me, and a huge thank you to the readers as well J. I love meeting readers, so please feel free to connect with me at any of the following:

Website: http://www.karen-annestewart.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6920317.Karen_Anne_Stewart

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SKarenAnne

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/SKarenAnne

Instagram: http://instagram.com/skarenanne

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

