Interview with Mike Hartner, author of I, James

Mike HartnerMike Hartner was born in Miami in 1965. He’s traveled much of the continental United States. He has several years post secondary education, and experience teaching and tutoring young adults. Hartner has owned and run a computer firm for more than twenty-five years. He now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, with his wife and child. They share the neighborhood and their son with his maternal grandparents.

Mike won first place blue ribbon for the 2013 Chaucer Award for Historical Fiction and first place blue ribbon for the 2013 Dante Rosetti Award in the YA category for I, Walter.

His latest book is the historical fiction/romance, I, James.

For More Information

About the Book:

I JamesJames Crofter was ripped from his family at age 11.

Within a year the prince was a pauper in a foreign land.

Is nature stronger than nurture? And even if it is, can James find the happiness he so richly desires?

For More Information

  • I, James is available at Amazon.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.

What made you decide to become a published author?

Early in the 00’s I needed to write a story or three about my family. To share them with relatives, I decided to publish. Then, when The Eternity Series came along, it just seemed the right thing to do.

Would you consider your latest book, I, James, to be a one of a kind? How so?

I, James is part of The Eternity Series. And in that sense, no it’s not one of a kind. But, one of the premises of the whole series is that each person needs to be admired for their own accomplishments; that nobody can be judged for their lives without at least understanding them, and in that sense, it is unique, because we all are as well.

Where is your writing sanctuary?

In my office, or more often the bedroom late at night.

What do you believe a writer should not do as far as getting his or her book published?

When getting your book published, keep control of your intellectual property. If you’re being asked to change something, remember they’re giving you their suggestions. Yes, the editors and agents want you to agree with them. But, if it is something you’re very adamant about, talk with them.

What inspires you?

I am inspired every day by the quality of people around me. I know people from every walk of life, and am inspired by each and every one of them.

Why do you love to write historical romance?

I love to write historical fiction because there are so many things that you can do to your characters n each of the eras. I love to include the romance because EVERY life has romance in it.

Aside from writing, what’s your passion?

Cheerleading for my son, who currently is playing Basketball and rugby for his school.

What’s next for you?

Book Three, of course.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Interview with Mike Hartner, author of I, James

  1. Pingback: Review, Character Guest Post & Giveaway: I, James (The Eternity Series #2) by Mike Hartner - FictionZeal

Leave a Reply

