Interview with ‘Rath’s Deception’ Piers Platt

Piers PlattPiers Platt is the New York Times bestselling author of “Combat and Other Shenanigans,” a memoir of his year-long deployment to Iraq as a tank and scout platoon leader. Piers grew up in Boston, but spent most of his childhood in various boarding schools, including getting trained as a classical singer at a choir school for boys. He joined the Army in 2002, and spent four years on active duty.

When he’s not writing or spending time with his lovely wife and daughter, Piers works as a strategy consultant in New York city.

His latest book is the sci fi/thriller, Rath’s Deception.

For More Information

About the Book:

Rath's Deception

Title: Rath’s Deception
Author: Piers Platt
Publisher: Piers Platt
Pages: 350
Genre: Sci Fi/Thriller

On the cut-throat streets of Tarkis, orphaned teens like Rath end up jailed … or dead. So when the shadowy Janus Group offers Rath a chance to earn riches beyond his wildest dreams, he seizes it. But the Janus Group is as ruthless as the elite assassins it controls. Rath will have to survive their grueling, off-world training, and fulfill all fifty kills in his contract before a single cent comes his way. And ending so many lives comes with a price Rath can’t anticipate. It’ll certainly cost him what’s left of his innocence. It may well cost him his life.

For More Information

  • Rath’s Deception is available at Amazon.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.

What made you decide to become a published author?

I’m not sure it was a choice! I’ve always loved reading and writing, and for as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to be an author. It just feels good to tell stories, and I love knowing that I’ve entertained people with them.

Where is your writing sanctuary?

The Long Island Rail Road’s 7:00am to Penn Station 😉 I’m not a full time writer yet, and I have a 90 min commute each morning (and evening), so that’s my writing time. I put on my headphones, and start writing…and before I know it, I’m at work.

What inspires you?

The goal of being a full-time writer. I think that’s more realistic today than it has been at any point in history – the internet has made it so much easier to find and connect with your readers, and earn a decent living from your work.

Why do you love to write science fiction?

It’s one of my favorite genres to read…and as an author, I love the endless possibilities that come with using sci fi as your canvas. I’ve always been fascinated with technology, too – so I like trying to imagine where technology will take us next, and what the impact will be on society.

Did any real life experiences find their way into your book?

No – some of my military experiences definitely influenced scenes where Rath is trained and then has to attempt his missions, but there’s nothing from my life that is directly on the page. There are a few easter eggs sprinkled throughout the series, though – genre fans will spot them!

Aside from writing, what’s your passion?

Scuba diving! I’ve logged several hundred dives on some of the world’s best reefs and wrecks. I’d love to get my divemaster certification, though, and my wife and I can’t wait until our daughter is old enough to get her own certification – will make vacations that much more fun!

What’s next for you?

Books 2 and 3! I wanted to have the whole trilogy complete before I released Book 1. So I’m putting the finishing touches on them now, and each will be released one month after Rath’s Deception.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

