Interview with Davin Whitehurst, author of children’s book I HAVE FAITH

Davin WhitehurstDavin Whitehurst lives in the beautiful high desert of Southern Arizona with his wife and son. He is releasing his first book “I have Faith” in May of 2016 but has so many more that are in the making. The motivation behind the books are deeply rooted from in his own past. He is a living testimony of Proverbs 22:6. Growing up in Southwest Kansas and in a Christian household, he was trained up in the way he should go. By the time he became a teenager, Davin turned away from God and left church. Fast forward into his late twenties and God brought him back with a powerful calling. He and his family have been faithfully serving at Seed of Abraham Christian Center International for over seven years now. Proof that when we teach our children the way they should go. When they get older, they know where to turn and will not depart from God. Davin wants each book written to be a resource that parents have to help train their children in the way they should go. He writes stories in a simple way that will be fun and practical for every child. He wants children to get excited about faith and the things of God.

His latest release is the children’s book, I Have Faith.

For More Information

About the Book:

I Have Faith

Title: I Have Faith
Author: Davin Whitehurst
Publisher: Childlike Faith Publishing
Pages: 26
Genre:  Children

Are you ready to get your child excited about faith? “I Have Faith” puts your child right in the footsteps of Danny as he begins to learn about faith. Danny and his older brother have been wanting a dog, but both know their parents don’t think they are ready for a dog. When Danny’s mom begins teaching him what the bible says about faith, he puts his faith into action. After praying and releasing his faith for a dog, doubt and even his best friend keep telling him that he will never get a dog. Over time Danny never loses his faith in the promises of God and finds that God is faithful and that faith works. Come along on this journey that is a real life event that took place in the author’s life as a child.

This book has great illustrations that support a wonderful story about finding faith in God. As you are teaching your child about principals in the bible; this book will help you teach faith. What a wonderful experience it is when we can see our children begin to develop their faith in God, and grow from a tiny mustard seed to a firmly planted tree. The back of the book has a parent/child discussion which will help children gain understanding in faith and some scriptures that Danny’s mom used to get him excited about faith.

For More Information

What made you decide to become a published author?

I never wanted to be an author and I ran from my calling for years. God began to speak to me about writing children’s books about eight years ago. I was in the middle of a music career and a developing government job. I just could never shake it though. About two years ago I told God that I would do what He had called me to do. From that point forward I have been working on getting every book idea and concept He has given me published. I Have Faith is the first of those.

Would you consider your latest book, I Have Faith, to be a one of a kind?  How so?

I believe it is a one of a kind because I have never came across a book like this before. This book allows parents to get involved in building up their children’s faith. It’s not just a story that children will love but Danny teaches children where faith comes from and that God’s promises always come to pass when we activate our faith in Him. Learning how to take hold of faith at a young age is a foundational element for the Christian walk and I Have Faith will help children start that foundation.

Where is your writing sanctuary?

I have a nice recording studio and now writing office that I can shut the door and get away. Just like with the recording studio my family knows that when I shut the studio door that I am in my creative zone and it is time to write. It is a place where creativity can flow.

What do you believe a writer should not do as far as getting his or her book published?

I am not really sure if I can fully answer this question but here is some advice I have learned along the way. The right publisher, agent or publishing path is very important for your success. Rushing into getting your book published is something that I say stay away from. Many vanity press/publishing companies will try and rush you. Make sure your network is there to advance your career. Don’t rush just to become a published author.

What inspires you?

The word of God inspires me. The word is alive and teaches me new things for my life every day. Along with that are my brothers and sisters in Christ. I can turn to them and hear their testimonies to encourage and move me to where I need to be in my life. The word of God and the body of Christ have given major inspiration over the past couple of years.

What is one thing you learned about your book after it was published?

It’s a Christian book but not all Christians agree with how I went about telling the story. I know that God called me to write it so I am not concerned with the division over the book. It just taught me the divide in doctrines amongst denominations which I had never seen or experienced before.

Why do you love to write children’s books?

Children have such a wonderful imagination and their minds develop so rapidly as children. It is great to take part in their lives by creating books that impact their lives for the better.

You’re concocting a recipe for a best selling book.  What’s the first ingredient?

The story, I believe that a good character can be built around a great story.

What’s one fun fact about your book people should know?

I Have Faith is a true story of my life as a young boy.

What’s next for you?

I have more book ideas that I am in the process of getting illustrated and then published. I Have Faith is releasing in Spanish (Yo Tengo Fe) and will be available as a ebook. My next book is a book out of Genesis chapter one. It will be an educational book for ages two to five and tell the story of how God created the world around us.

I am in the process of writing my first young adult novel also and should be completed sometime in 2017. With that I just started Childlike Faith Publishing this year and looking to build up a great lineup of authors and books. God has been so good to me and looking forward to getting many more children’s books published over the next couple of years.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

